As a WHMCS administrator, you will have full access to all product groups defined with the SwiftModders WHMCS Feature Requester. This will make it easier for you and your staff to manage feature requests as they come in. Keep in mind, that your permissions will be limited to what Administrator Roles you have given specific Feature Requester permissions. To edit those permissions, head to the module settings under “Addons” > “SwiftModders WHMCS Feature Requester.” Once loaded, you edit permissions by clicking on the “Permissions” tab.
Accessing the feature requests system
There are several ways to access the Feature Requester, but as a WHMCS admin, you’ll be able to access it easily by visiting the WHMCS frontend. You will see a “Feature Requester” navigation item that you can click on. Once loaded, this is the landing page for the feature requests system. As an admin, you’ll see all of the active product groups you’ve created! As a client, the “Feature Requester” navigation item has been moved under the “Support” navigation item. This was done to ensure that your navigation does not break when you have a lot of top-level navigation items in WHMCS. You can always move your navigation items utilizing the WHMCS hooks system as outlined in their Navigation developer documentation.
Moderating new feature requests
The Feature Requester comes with moderation enabled by default, but if you’ve disabled this feature, then you will not see any of the options below. Access the Feature Requester frontend and navigate to the product group where the pending feature request is. Once you’ve loaded the product group page, all pending feature requests will be highlighted in yellow. If you have a lot of pending feature requests, you can filter out all approved feature requests by clicking on the “Moderation” item in the sidebar.
You should now see an “Actions” dropdown next to the pending feature requests. Expand the dropdown to locate the “Approve” option and select it. Once completed, the feature request will be approved and visible to the public. If you’ve enabled the “Send Client Email Notifications,” and your client has opted-in to receive these emails, they will be notified that their feature request is now available. You can always “Unapprove” a feature request if you need to hide it for any particular reason.
If you’ve enabled the “Email Admins on New Feature Requests,” then you will receive an email with a direct link to the feature request. You can also approve the feature request directly from this page by clicking the “Actions” button and selecting the “Approve” option.
Editing a feature request and comment
As a WHMCS admin with edit permissions, you’ll have full access to edit all feature requests and comments. To edit a feature request, you must navigate to the details page of the feature request within the Feature Requester. Once you’ve landed on the details page, click on the “Actions” dropdown and select “Edit.”
Aside from the typical feature request fields, you will notice several “Admin Only” fields where you can make significant changes to this feature request:
- Status: This field will allow you to modify the current status label assigned to the feature request. Keep in mind, when “Send Client Email Notifications” is enabled and the client has opted-in to receive emails from the feature requester, they will receive an email when you change the status of the request.
- Close this Feature Request: If enabled, this feature request will be closed from receiving any new comments or votes. The request will remain active and viewable if you need to revisit it.
- Approve this Feature Request: This option works similarly to the “Approve” dropdown item. If enabled, the feature request will be viewable to the public.
Editing a comment is very simple, as well. When you’re on the feature request with the specific comment you want to edit, you will see an “Edit” link next to each comment. This will enable you to adjust the contents of the comment.
Modifying the votes for a feature request
As a WHMCS admin with delete permissions, you’ll be able to alter the items in the “Vote Log.” Accessing the log will also be under the “Actions” dropdown for a specific feature request. Simply select the “Vote Log” option.
You will see a table of all the votes associated with the feature request you are viewing. If for any reason, you require clearing the vote total, you can click the “Clear All Votes” button in the upper-right hand corner. Alternatively, you can delete a single vote by clicking the “Delete” button.
Did you find this answer helpful?
1 out of 1 people (100%) found this helpful.